Monday, April 27, 2009

NABJ Announces Nominees

CNN anchor/reporter T.J. Holmes will host the 2009 The National Association of Black Journalists Salute to Excellence Awards Gala on August 8, 2009 in Tampa, Fla. "We have been committed to the best work that tells the stories of the black condition," said Wayne Dawkins, former NABJ chairman of historical records. "I think it's always great to see that good journalism is being done everywhere, not just in the major markets. These are the kind of stories that make you sit up and go 'Wow.'" Nominees this year include the Washington Post's Eugene Robinson, who won a Pulitzer Prize last week, and Kevin Merida, and Suzanne Malveau for CNN's excellent "CNN Presents: Obama Revealed."

Past award recipients include CBS News' Byron Pitts, NBC News Correspondent Ron Allen and Cynthia Tucker of The Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

No comments: